Japan 2013: Day 10 Fuji Five Lakes + Exploring Shinjuku Part 3

DAY 10 (CON’T)

Had some time to kill before the train leaves Kawaguchiko at 1629 Hrs. No point waiting for the 1659 Hrs train (which is an express train) as there is nothing much to do around the station anyway. There is a souvenir/omiyage shop right beside the cafe …… and found out that the Fujiyama Cookie is sold here as well (and nicely packaged). Ahhh ……

2013-11-23 16.17.12

And so it was goodbye to Kawaguchiko and Mount Fuji as I leave on the train heading back to Otsuki. Felt that I could have done more if I had managed to do more research. And also not come here on a public holiday! As there is so much to see and look at the Fuji Five Lakes (not just Lake Kawaguchiko alone, Lake Yamankanko is also the other major lake worth spending a day at) …… a 2D1N or even a 3D2N trip would have worked better as well. Another item for future return trips πŸ˜›

2013-11-23 16.33.13

Reached Otsuki slightly aheaed of schedule, around. Tried to ask the station staff whether I could cancel off the earlier reserved ticket (1803 Hrs train) and reserve a new ticket instead for the earlier 1740 Hrs train. It seems like the train station staff attending to my query could not understand my question despite me trying my best to keep to very simple phrases and so kept shaking his head (to indicate NO) until I got really impatient (probably the accumulated frustration from battling traffic throughout the day + not having my camera to use really got to me quite badly) …… and so blew my top at the poor station staff! The poor guy probably got a bit scared by my raised voice, and so in the end a more senior staff (his superior probably) attended to my query. And it turns out that I can cancel the ticket and re-reserve one for the earlier train. Actually I need not cancel, I could just book a fresh ticket, but I thought that if I cancelled, then someone else could have reserved that seat when they come by the station/buy a ticket at the machine.

Anyway this episode took a good 15 min …… and I started to actually cool down and felt a bit bad. Since it was already close to 1740 Hrs, changed my mind and decided to wait out as the arrival times at Shinjuku between this train and the later train I reserved is less than 10 min difference. Apologised to the station staff and admitted that my frustration throughout the day did get better of me. Thank god this was the one and only time I blew my top at someone throughout my entire holiday.

And so got back to Shinjuku. Since the original plan to head to Rikugien was sort of ruined (no camera so kind of pointless), decided that I will make use of the evening to do some shopping instead. Since I was already at Shinjuku Station (JR), instead of changing platforms to the JR Yamanote Line i.e. green line) to get to Shibuya for dinner, instead I exited at South exit of Shinjuku. The South exit facing right towards the main road/traffic junction was the same entrance/exit that me & HX frequented during our 2012 trip πŸ™‚

Decided to walk the same route i.e. turn right, go straight, and turn right again (at Lumine) towards the west side of the station where Keio Department Store, Limousine Bus Counter and Tokyo Metro entrance is. This time round, this familar stretch was full of people (including a few groups of street buskers) ……

2013-11-23 19.36.22

2013-11-23 19.36.46

Saw that Keio Department Store (right beside Lumine) has a Fancl counter, so popped in and got the Fancl stuff that sis wanted. One major item down (and that saves me the trouble of having to get it at Shibuya or at Fancl store in Ginza)! There was also a huge Uniqlo outlet further down the road so walked over. There was a 15th anniversary sale so huge discounts for many of the items. Mainly autumn/winter clothes though. Had roughly marked out a few items that I thought of getting since it was really cheap after conversion back to SGD …… then for some strange reason, decided to hold off the purchase to tommorrow/next day instead. Thinking about it now, I should have just bought on the spot (as I ended up going back to Uniqlo again on my last day in Tokyo just to hunt for something to buy).

Left Uniqlo and since I had some time (7-plus in the evening), decided to just walk further upwards. Based on the map, and from the photo my sis whatsapp me, there should be a Don Quijote (Donki) outlet around the west exit of Shinjuku station, and at the edge of Kabukicho (Japan’s largest red light district). Only made it as far as the next satellite station – Shinjuku-nishiguchi Station (a Toei railway station). Got out from the station exit at the other end, only saw a huge Tokyu Hands store (and probably still some way away from Kabukicho) ….. and so turned back to where I came from πŸ˜›

Saw the entrance to the Shinjuku Terrace City Illumination. Since there was not enough time during my last trip to view this illumination …… and I’m here this time (entirely by chance), might as well take this opportunity to walk through the illumination. The illumination will extend across the overhead bridge all the way till the Southern Terrace City end of Shinjuku, where Takashimaya Times Square and Kinokuniya is located.

2014-05-04 01.14.41

2014-05-04 01.16.54

Let’s just say the illumination is pretty ordinary at best, and we didn’t miss out anything significant during our last trip πŸ˜›

Processed with Moldiv

However there was a lighted christmas tree where you step into it, put your hands and a colour will illuminate. No one to take a photo for me, but I got yellow – which means I’ll be rich. A good sign yeah πŸ˜›

2013-11-23 20.31.31

3 thoughts on “Japan 2013: Day 10 Fuji Five Lakes + Exploring Shinjuku Part 3

  1. Hi , can I enquire for the fancl store in shinjuku , is it difficult to locate? And does it sell supplement or only makeup products? Thanks πŸ™‚

    • The stall is located right inside Keio Department Store … along the road leading towards the Metro station entrance. Saw makeup, skincare & supplement products

Leave a Reply

