Weekly Photo Challenge: On The Move – Part 2

Decided to do a Part 2, my first time ever.

Another Singapore/local theme intepretation. This time round my Vesak Day (yesterday) lunch cum jaunt around Tiong Bahru.

Did 1 exploration earlier back in end March …… and since I wanted to get out of the house for a short while to soak in some sunlight (more for motivation reasons, despite the warm warm weather), decided Tiong Bahru was the best place to go as it is along the East-West MRT line, and I could get lunch, do some shoe shopping + banking right at Tiong Bahru Plaza as well.

Decided to take a walk from Tiong Bahru Plza, past Kim Tian ….. instead of turning into Yong Siak (where 40 Hands is) as previously done so, walked straight where I would pass by Moh Guan Terrace. Missed out on the stretch during my last exploration back in March.

First up, Flock Cafe at #01-25, 78 Moh Guan Terrace. Googled a bit on the MRT ride and found pretty good reviews for Flock’s brunch and coffee. As I was not in the mood for any western style brunch (might have eaten at Flock if I managed to leave my house earlier) – so Flock will be on my to-try list for future brunches!

20140514-233147.jpg

Just further down the road was #01-19 …. Where Bincho/Hua Bee is!

20140514-234320.jpg

Some backstory on this coffeeshop. This was the coffeeshop where Eric Khoo’s ‘Mee Pok Man’. A unique combo of the old and new – where it is Hua Bee’s meepok in the daytime ….. and Bincho (located right inside) taking over for dinner at night (they serve lunch as well). Would have loved to have the mee pok for a genuiely local experience but the crowd kinda put me off. Am curious enough to want to try out Bincho one fine day (should I decide to pay for an atas Japanese omakase dinner one day) since it is one of Loh Lik Peng’s concept 😛

Walked further on and I was onto the long stretch of Seng Poh Road next. Right beside Seng Poh Road was Tiong Bahru Market and Hawker Centre. Since I was badly craving for some local food, decided to have my lunch here. Got myself a cold solid soy bean drink ($1) ….. followed by fishball noodles from Hui Ji (yet another solid recommendation from Daniel Food Diary). The noodles and fishball were both very QQ, only slight minus was that the dried sauce was a bit on the saltier side though. But really generous portion for $2.50!

20140514-234334.jpg

After lunch, walked all the way down to Tiong Bahru Bakery, and continued on to the end of Eng Hoon Street, where I spotted this Monkey temple which J told me has a lot of worshippers on select days. You can read more about the Qi Tian Gong Temple here.

20140514-234358.jpg

Its really hot so ended my walk here, and hopped onto a bus at the nearest bus stop (next to Sin Hoi Sai tze char) to head back towards home.

Leave a Reply

